The administrative and financial well-being of Kannon Do is sustained by its members through the following activities:

Practice Leaders

Practice leaders are appointed by the Abbot and serve for two years. We currently have five practice positions at Kannon Do: Ino, Tenzo, Work Leader, Head Doan/Kokyo and Head Zazen Instructor. The five Practice Leaders plus the Abbot form the Practice Committee.


There are three Officers at Kannon Do: President, Secretary, and Treasurer. Officers are appointed by the Board of Directors and must have been voting members for at least one year immediately preceding the election.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of Kannon Do consists of seven members. Board members serve a two-year term. Each year, three new Board members alternating with four members are elected at the March annual meeting. To be eligible to run for the Board, an individual must have been a voting member for at least one year immediately preceding the election. One Board member may be selected by the Board to act as Chairperson.